Best Books of: 2020

Yes, I’m alive!

I’ve been criminally remiss in updating this book blog. It’s not that I’ve stopped reading or reviewing – far from it, in fact. It’s just that I’ve tended to save what I think are ‘important’ reviews (i.e. those for mainstream books) for this blog, and been a lot more active on Goodreads.

Going into 2021 though, I plan to change that. I want to be a lot more active on here… and not just with book reviews either. I’ll be reposting the many articles I’ve written for Book Riot over the years, and soon I’ll be writing something I’m very excited about: my review for my 2021 planner!

2020 has been such a year for all of us, and I’m excited to move on. But before that, here’s a list of the best books I’ve read this year, with links to reviews. Note that not all were actually published this year. What was your favourite book this year? Let me know! And in the meantime, have a great new year.

YA

#1. The Diabolic (The Diabolic #1) – S.J. Kincaid

#2. The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow #2) – Margaret Owen

#3. My Love Lies Bleeding (Drake Chronicles #1) – Alyxandra Harvey

#4. Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine #1) – Lora Beth Johnson

#5. Immortal Plunder (Pirates of Felicity #1) – Kelly St Clare

#6. The Kinder Poison (The Kinder Poison #1) – Natalie Mae

#7. The Reformed Vampire Support Group (Paranormal Support Groups #1) – Catherine Jinks

#8. Fantasy of Frost (Tainted Accords #1) – Kelly St Clare

#9. The Retreat (After #1) – Kelly St Clare

#10. City of Saints and Thieves – Natalie C. Anderson

#11. Nameless (Tales of Beauty and Madness #1) – Lili St Crow

#12. Cloudwish (Six Impossiverse #3) – Fiona Wood

Fantasy/Paranormal

#1. A Deadly Education (Scholomance #1) – Naomi Novik

#2. Blood Trial (Supernatual Battle: Vampire Towers #1) – Kelly St Clare

#3. Minimum Wage Magic (DFZ #1) – Rachel Aaron

#4. Shifter Wars (Werewolf Dens #1) – Kelly St Clare

#5. Wicked Ugly Bad (A Kinda Fairytale #1) – Cassandra Gannon

#6. Dirty Lovely Broken (Twisted Kingdom #1) – Emmy Chandler

Historical Romance

#1. Scandalous Desires (Maiden Lane #3) – Elizabeth Hoyt

Mystery/Thriller

#1. The Searcher – Tana French

Contemporary

#1. You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me – Sarra Manning

#2. Hate (Madison Kate #1) – Tate James

#3. Friends Without Benefits (Knitting in the City #2) – Penny Reid

Leave a comment